Workshop with Julie Arkell in France

Let me tell you about my most amazing trip to France.  The residential course I did, studying with Julie Arkell, was probably the best week of my life!  The place I studied, Les Seours Anglaises, was just beautiful, a lovely place in which to be and create.  The food was magnificent and I learnt everything I hoped to learn and more.  What I didn’t expect was to be overwhelmed by all the fabulous women I studied with – I learnt so much from them and made so many friends.

Here’s a photo tour…

Julie Arkell was a wonderful teacher, and I couldn’t get enough of her cute aprons and eccentric, delightful fashion:

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France

On the first day, Julie showed us how to scrunch up newspaper and tape it up with masking tape to create little figures.  She told us to make as many as we could before lunch.  This was my line up:

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 2

After lunch we covered our figures with a layer of newspaper.  At the end of the first day, here’s all our creations, drying together in the sun.

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 3

The next day we covered our figures with paper from vintage books, and gave them a lick of paint here and there.  This is my line up by the end of the second day:

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 4

Me, making making making in the workshop:

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 5

Here’s other students hard at it:

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 6 Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 7

Julie taught me how to approach knitting garments for any doll, of any size, shape and proportions.  Here she’s writing  a proposed knitting pattern for my rabbit doll, into my journal:

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 8

We took an outting to the local flea market to source treasures to use in our creations.  Then we had a picnic, and here’s me sitting next to Julie Arkell:

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 9

I snared this original vintage French military jacket at the flea market.  It fits me perfectly – normally it’s hard for me to find a jacket wide enough across the shoulders but not enormous at the waist.  I like the proportions of these French soldiers!  Happy I’ll always have this to remember the trip.

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 10

The other students were so skilled and happy to share their talents.  When I ran into problems knitting a playsuit for my doll, one of the other students, Torhild, was happy to help.  And in fact once she got knitting, everyone was so gobsmacked at her speed and skill that we all gathered around in shock to watch.  Better than TV!

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 11

My doll had antlers and we weren’t sure we’d be able to get the playsuit onto her once it was knitted.  But Torhild had a solution: she proceeded to knit the playsuit ONTO the doll!  Much more admiration from everyone in the class.

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 12

At the end, we had a show and tell.  You can see my figures on the left below:

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 13

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 14

This is me with my inkle.  I have wanted an inkle ever since I saw one in a catalogue of Julie’s work.  She was happy to show me out to knit one.  I love it.

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 15

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 16

The other students made wonderful things:

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 17 Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 18 Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 19 Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 20

I think my favourite was this hare by Ragnhild:

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 21

Workshop with Julie Arkell in France 22

It nearly killed me to say goodbye to everyone.  Usually I love working alone, but suddenly my little studio at home seems rather lonely!  It doesn’t matter – I’ve brought home a whole year’s worth of inspiration, so hopefully I’ll be too busy to notice!

 

1 thought on “Workshop with Julie Arkell in France

  1. Pingback: Studying with Julie Arkell in Denmark | Asphyxia

Leave a comment