Encaustic paintings on reclaimed fabric and plaster

Here’s another collection of small paintings I’ve done recently, by rubbing plaster into reclaimed fabric, and then finishing it all with an encaustic of beeswax and damar resin. They have a satiny texture and I’m in love with the grungy raw edges.

Which of these paintings do you like best? And why? Words, colours, characters, textures?

My favourite is Warning: non-conformity may be disturbingly liberating, which is definitely my experience of breaking the mould. It’s hard to go back to a compliant, socially acceptable life once you’ve had a taste of that kind of freedom, I think!

If you’d like one of these, they are in my shop, except for Resilient girl who has gone off to her new home already.

Leave a Reply

