The Grimstones Books – on sale!

This week only, my Grimstones books are on sale, super-cheap!

If you have any birthdays coming up for kids aged 7-13, these would make a great gift. Each can be read as a stand-alone story – no need to read the other books in the series.

These books are slim – not too daunting for new readers, full of beautiful illustrations, and have inspired kids to build their own miniature worlds in boxes once they stop reading.

The books reflect the diary of Martha Grimstone, complete with gorgeous photos of her family and home (miniature puppets and furniture that I made myself from upcycled junk), drawings and collage.

When I wrote the book, I made sure not to ‘dumb it down’ for young readers, and lots of adults have told me how much they enjoy reading the books to their kids. It’s great as a vocabulary-expander and I’ve been told many times that my books have transformed children from non-readers into enthusastic readers.

The Grimstones won the Speech Pathologist’s book of the year 2013 and was also awarded Australian Book Design of the year 2013. With The Grimstones, I like to inspire kids to get making – and I’ve a huge album of photos of things kids have made after reading The Grimstones. Some have made dolls based on the characters, and fabulous dress ups, others have made miniature worlds out of cardboard, and written spellbooks and even short novels inspired by the book.

To snap up a copy while on sale, head to my online shop now.

Leave a Reply

