Deaf is the new black

Deaf is the new black

Even though it’s really hard being Deaf at times, if I could choose to be hearing, I wouldn’t.  Let me tell you what I love about being Deaf.

  • I can claim sign language – the most beautiful and expressive language ever – as my own, and use it whenever I want. I can sign songs, and that is visual poetry, I tell you.
  • I can sleep through anything.
  • Snoring doesn’t bother me.
  • When I work with power tools, I don’t need to wear earmuffs.
  • I can go shopping in complete silence if I take off my hearing aids. No couples bickering, children’s tantrums, blaring announcements or background music.
  • In noisy environments, I am serene.
  • I have a fantastic visual memory and am very observant.
  • I’m granted an automatic passport to the Deaf community.
  • People give me free things, discounts and little extras all the time.
  • I read peoples’ faces and body language better than most.
  • I communicate well with people who don’t speak English, as I know how to get messages through visually.
  • Everyone remembers me.
  • When I meet others who are ‘different’ in some way, we share an instant kinship and openness with one another.
  • I can get away with almost anything by smiling sweetly.
  • I can ignore you when you speak and you’ll never suspect I heard.

Share this post to spread around some Deaf pride!

By the way, the painting is part of my exhibition, Looking Out, Looking In, at Cam’s Cafe Gallery at the Abbotsford Convent in Melbourne until 28th Sept, and it’s available here:
http://asphyxia.myshopify.com/products/deaf-is-the-new-black-linoprint-ink-on-heavy-paper-framed

Leave a Reply

