Dropping my prices

Journal mind dump-1

One of the things I’ve really enjoyed about travel is the opportunity to get perspective on my life and think about the bigger picture of what’s going on for me. I make pages in my journal like this one, which don’t always make a lot of sense. But the bits and pieces that are floating round inside me get a chance to ferment, and often something eventually takes shape.

After I made this page, I realised how uneasy I feel about being part of a ‘sales marketing machine’ as I sell my art. The retail industry is something that really turns me off, and yet I’m a part of it.

I have thought, very seriously, about giving my art away for free. That’s actually something I’d really like to do. But I just can’t. I need to cover costs on my studio and materials, and I need to eat, just like everyone else, and by selling my work I get to have the lifestyle I love, of being an artist and spending heaps of time doing creative stuff. I don’t need a lot of money from it though, and I’m happy to live a pretty simple life.

With a lot of soul-searching, I’ve decided to make a compromise. I’m dropping my prices. I still need to sell pieces, but I’m making them much more affordable for you. I have no deside to be part of an exculsive club or to prove my value as an artist with monumental prices. My new prices will, I hope, cover my studio costs and put a bit of food on the table. I don’t know if it will truly be financially viable though.

If you’d like to get some of my paintings at my new prices, please head over to my shop. I can’t guarantee this is going to work out, so if there are pieces you like, get them now, as it may turn out that I need to raise my prices again after all. We’ll see what happens.

I’ll still need to charge my usual rate for commissions though, as making a piece of art to fit someone else’s specifications is very different from going with my own internal flow and producing something I fancy, with the things I happen to have on hand.

Anyway, if this is an idea you like, consider supporting it by buying one of my newly cheaper pieces. And if you know anyone who likes my work, would you share this post with them?

Leave a Reply

