Floating free

Floating Free-1

Once or twice a week, I look out of my bedroom window in the morning and see hot air balloons floating by. One morning was particularly stunning – the sky was gold and there were six of them, in the perfect combination of luminous colours. I followed them as I rode to my studio. Something about hot air balloons seems to be the most magical way to get around. In my imaginary world, people travel by balloon. No need for a basket or even fire. Just tie yourself on and float.

I’m really happy with how this painting turned out – the colours are soft and subtle, but there’s so much texture there as I kept slashing into each layer as I painted it. And I’ve got a thing for city skylines – maybe it’s something about seeing the churning engine of our civilisation from a distance, while we float free from it.

If you’d like this piece, it’s in my shop here.

Leave a Reply

