I want to spread my wings

I want to spread my wings-1

I often love portraits of people from behind, but I never seem to paint them myself. Subconsciously, it seems a cop out, somehow, to not show their face. But I decided to challenge myself on that one, and I reckon there’s nothing cop out about this. I just love this girl’s hair and am swooning over her tattoo. She can be glimpsed through a portal of plaster gauze, which has the most luscious texture. I’m so happy with how this piece turned out. It grew from one of my 5am drawing sessions – early morning time well spent!

If you’d like her, she’s in my shop.

Leave a Reply

