Birds

Melissa's birds-1

A while ago a traveller came into my studio, and when she was flipping through my journals, she came across pages I’d done while I was in Oslo.

‘I live there!’ she told me.

We started writing to each other in Norwegian and it was ace to have a chance to practise the language. Turned out we had heaps in common and I ended up inviting her to stay at my place.

She fell in love with my painting, Secret Garden, that I have on my lounge room wall, and commissioned me to paint a smaller version of it for her. It spoke to her because of her own connection with birds. Bird tattoos fly across her back in a manner not unlike this painting.

Anyway, here’s the birds I painted for her. They are in the mail now, on their way to Oslo. I hope she likes them.

Leave a Reply

