Quick journal self-portrait

Journal-3

For so long I’ve painted faces to sell, that I’ve kind of forgotten how to do them quickly, loosely, just for me. The point of doing it for me is I don’t need to make it ‘good’, which means I can play around a lot more, and accidentally find good stuff. I painted this with watercolour, which I rarely use, and suddenly it all came together. Love the roughness of it. It didn’t take long either. I ripped it out and stuck it straight into my journal, adding bits of textured tape and paper I had lying around my studio. Later, I’ll write on this page, add something to the oval label at the top.

Leave a Reply

