Learning to draw and write with chalk

Open roses

For my birthday my mum gave me the book, ‘The complete book of chalk lettering’ by Valerie McKeehan. I love it! A few years ago I decided to try and improve my handwriting, and did daily worksheets for a while as I taught myself a couple of new fonts. They look great and I use them on my artworks all the time. It’s wonderful to be able to write beautifully and easily – no need even for a pencil. But I’m kind of limited to those two fonts. I reckon this book is going to help me branch out! Not just with learning a broader range of lettering skills, but learning how to do flourishes, banners, and little drawings such as these roses. I’ve never known how to draw roses before, though I can paint them very suggestively. This is just my first practice session with roses and I’m so thrilled with how they turned out.

Rose bud

Leave a Reply

