Learn Auslan – Directional signs and tense

These are signs which vary in direction according to context. For example, the following signs are signed differently depending on who is receiving:

• Give me/you/everyone
• Help me/you/everyone
• Teach you/me/everyone
• Show you/me
• Tell you/me

In the last lesson, I taught you to add the word FINISH to a verb, to show past tense. However, if that verb is directional, like the signs in the video, then you should add the sign FINISH before the verb, not after it. For example, “You told me not to!” would be signed, YOU FINISH TELL-ME NO!

As a rule, frozen signs use verb+FINISH, and directional signs use FINISH+verb.

Leave a Reply

