Journaling without working retrospectively

Travel Journal 2015-5

One of the things I love about my journal is that it’s not just a memory bank. You know the feeling when you have a gazillion photos from a trip and you want to put them somewhere, and you want to make it look fabulous, but you just can’t seem to get around to it so it doesn’t happen? Well my journal is designed to avoid that kind of guilt trip.

Y’see, I hate working retrospectively. I used to write in my journal at night, too tired to make a pretty page, but later I’d be disappointed. There’s my gorgeous book full of colour and beauty, and then you turn the page and there’s nothing but boring black scrawl. So I’d take it into my studio and see what I can do. But it was annoying, because I’d want to get on with my new stuff, with the here and now stuff, not faff around trying to make my old stuff look better.

So I developed a new approach. It’s all about the construction of the book. By making in advance (when I’m inspired, not tired) the kind of book that makes even boring black scrawl look good, I rarely have to go back and fix anything. And right there, on the very night I’ve scribbled my heart out, the page looks fantastic.  Ahh, I sigh… raw, edgy… oh yes, this black scrawl is working for me.

Anyway, that’s one of the techniques I teach in my online art journal e-course, Make The Book Of Your Dreams. Feel free to check it out if you’d like to give it a try. In the Facebook group for this course, you’ll find a tutorial which sets out a nice easy way to create a page like this, with little photos that capture your travels/memories.

Leave a Reply

