Journal Flip Through – Pink hair girl

When I painted the cover for this journal, I hated it! I was so disappointed that the girl didn’t come out exactly as I imagined her. I shoved the painting into a folder and forgot about it. Later, when I made this journal, I hunted through my paintings and was astonished to find this one. I totally fell in love with it. It’s now one of my favourite faces ever. Go figure. I think I just had to let go of my initial vision so I could see her for who she really is.

One of the things I love about having a face on the front of my journal, is that it really feels like the book is my best friend – a particularly lovely, glamorous, pink-haired friend. Very cool.

When I made this book I was doing a clean out of all my old papers. I had so many things I didn’t want to get rid of – newspaper clippings, photos of me as a child, pretty patterned paper that was too pretty to discard. I couldn’t throw them out. But they were just gathering dust in a folder. The great thing about journaling with this method I use, is that I prepare the pages ahead of time by collaging in found papers, and it was the perfect way to use up all those lovely pieces from my past. The book is full of happy memories from long ago as a result.

Have a look through it in this video if you like. And if you want to learn to make and use a book like this, check out my e-course, Make The Book Of Your Dreams.

One thought on “Journal Flip Through – Pink hair girl

Leave a Reply

