Two Birds

Two birds-1

Of all the colour experiments I tried while I was painting in Europe, this is the one that excited me the most. It pops. I just leaps off the paper, and I love it. The little bird is a stamp I had with me, and the big bird came from a rough scribble I did in my journal. I’ve done a lot of scribbles – most of them are dreadful. But every now and then a little gem emerges, and this bird was one of them. I’m going to make a stamp of him.

This painting is in celebration of all the people I met and spent time with while I travelled.

We are the same but different, and yet there’s still a place for us to meet and know each other. Two Birds is about making the connection, coming together and understanding each other, despite dark and light, tall and small, and all the other inherent differences we embody.

If you’d like it, it’s in my shop.

Leave a Reply

