Growing into my authentic self

Growing into my authentic self-2

‘I tried to be normal once. Worst two minutes of my life.’

I saw this quote on Facebook and it really resonated with me. It’s always a struggle to work out to what extent I should make the effort to fit in to society, and to what extent I should simply be myself.

Growing into our authentic selves is the task of a lifetime, one that continually changes and evolves. It is the challenge to be our best self, to let positive influences shape us, whie still remaining true to the core of who we are. It is the courage to be that self, even if it isn’t who others want us to be.

I painted this as a reminder to be true to myself. It’s a really textured piece, with an actual vintage button and lots of texture in the dress and hair.

This is one of the new pieces I showed at my exhibition, and happily it was snapped up right away.

Leave a Reply

